Creating Volume Shortcut In Windows 10

As with many things related to Microsoft Windows, there are many ways to do the same thing. This is how I setup a shortcut to adjust the volume in Windows 10.

I could of course, just go to the system tray and select volume and make changes from there, but I wanted something more convenient.

Copy the following to your clipboard.

%windir%\System32\SndVol.exe -f 49825268

We are going to make a shortcut in Windows 10 using the info above. I want this to also be easy to find, so I can add this to any of the other computers I use at home, so I am going to keep the shortcut stored in my Google Drive. You can of course, store this anywhere on your computer and it doesn’t have to be in Google Drive, I have that installed and synching files on all of my computers, so that was something easy for me.

Go into the folder where you want the shortcut file stored. When you open a folder, nothing in that folder is selected until you move the cursor keys or click on something with a mouse. That is what we want to happen to make this process easier.

Now without selecting anything in the folder, press your context or applications key and a menu will open. Arrow up to the item that says:
New Sub menu and either press enter or use your right cursor key to open the menu. Move to shortcut and press enter.

The create shortcut wizard opens and this is where you will paste the line from earlier in this message and press enter.

On the next screen you are asked to give the shortcut a name, I named it Volume and press enter or tab to finish and press enter.

From here you could press the context or applications key and go to the properties and assign a keyboard shortcut, but I chose something that requires less keystrokes to activate the shortcut and shouldn’t conflict with keys for any other program.

In Windows 10 you can pin programs, documents, or shortcuts to the task bar. The first item that gets pinned can be launched by pressing the Windows key and 1. The second item that is on the task bar can be launched with Windows 2 etc…

So anytime I need to adjust the volume, I simply press Windows and 1 and I’m in the volume settings.

If I want to remove my volume shortcut from the task bar I could either go to the Volume item on the task bar, press the context or applications key and select unpin from task bar.
I could also go to the volume shortcut that I keep stored in my google drive and do the same to unpin the shortcut from the task bar.

You can use this to quickly launch a program you use frequently. I could pin Firefox as the second item on the task bar and could open it by pressing the Windows key and 2.

Steve

Twitter @blindbites
Blog blindbites.com
email steve@blindbites.com
22 year cancer survivor & 5 year obesity survivor

Comments are closed.